Quick thinking

I played a great game the other night.  My performance in the game was not great.  I’d say it was lackluster at best.  It’s a fast-moving game, and I kept grinding to an entire halt.  This is a common occurrence for me in this sort of game.  When you’re new to this kind of game, it’s a good idea to not try to do it perfectly at first. It’s a better idea to just stay in it, keep up, and learn the ropes.  Mastery is for later.  (Or is this true of all games?  Of all things?)  Once I let up on myself about doing it perfectly right away, it got more fun and I got better. Old dog, new trick.

Technically, it’s a counting game.  If you can count to five, you can play.  But there’s lots more to it.  It’s a game of mental agility and flexibility, a game that encourages the brain to think in more than one direction or way at once, or maybe not if not at once, in very quick succession.  It’s good for the aging brain, to keep the neurons firing, and it’s good for the developing brain, to build the aforementioned mental agility and flexibility.  It’s also a much more fun way to work on executive function than… well, many other recommended methods. And it encourages use of the brain’s visual capacity in a way that other similar games might not, by representing quantities in five different ways. (You can take the words out to play without reading.)

Here it is.  Ratuki.  Enjoy.

One Response

  1. Thanks so much for sharing this game. I just added onto my future resources list.

Comments are closed.