Norms, strengths, disorders…

I recently heard about Dale Archer’s new book Better than Normal: How What Makes You Different Can Make You Exceptional, in which he cautions against the over-diagnosing of psychiatric disorders.  If we’re not careful, Archer says, we’ll stomp out some of our best potential.  I’m finding that the book is a little slow going at the outset, but well worth the questions it raises, particularly for those of us raising and being role models for children (which I guess, when I put it that way, is to say all of us).  The recent issue of Oprah Winfrey’s magazine includes this concise interview with Archer.  I recommend that interview as a first look at his work; if you think it might have a positive impact on the way you see and consider your child, and how you determine what’s normal, what’s helpful, what’s not, then there’s also the book…

