Word art

One of my favorite publishers of math materials (Key Press) has been clearing out their warehouse and in so doing reminded me of Scott Kim’s book Inversions. They’ve apparently run out of their copies, but you can get it from amazon.  Scott’s work is very cool; the inversions are word designs that flip around a line or point of symmetry to read the same.  I’m not going to try any harder than that to explain it – have a look. The book itself is fairly involved, but if you explore his site (that’s where the ‘have a look’ link’ll take you) you’ll get an idea for whether it’s something someone in your house might want to fuss around with more intensely.  And if so, the book might be a good buy.

While I’m on the subject of word-math-art, my calligraphy post prompted a request for recommended resources in that realm.  I stalled, as I’m not entirely thrilled with the book I have.  It’s Calligraphy for Kids.  It’s OK, but not great.  When I returned to amazon to see if I could find anything I liked better, I realized to my mortification that my first error was searching under “calligraphy for kids.”  What I wanted, of course, was calligraphy for beginners. What’s important is not, obviously, that the author was imagining a childish or childlike audience but that he or she was writing for someone new to the craft.  So.  I didn’t find anything I thought failsafe (most of the previews show only the TOC, the introductory, informational chapters and the index), but after flipping through all the available previews I thought the most promising books were the ones by Arthur Newhall.  They seem to be less text-heavy (which I prefer when it comes to learning how to do something as opposed to about it) and more specific in their guidance with forming letters.  This one includes pens, but a couple of reviewers complained that they arrived dried out.  This one does not include pens.

If you know of other/preferred resources for calligraphy and related pursuits others might find useful, please post a comment!

