Teen 2.0

One of my particularly alert readers here in Maine has been after me to read Robert Epstein’s Teen 2.0.  I have yet to entirely cast off memory of my high school experience with the Norton anthologies and thus was a little put off by this book’s length. Now that I’ve finally got my hands on a copy, I wish hadn’t waited so long, and have made a renewed commitment to put my auto-resistance to lengthy reads behind me.

I’m only on chapter two, but I decided to post the recommendation now. I think the first two chapters themselves are worth the cost of the book.  Also, it could be awhile before I finish and in the meantime, the book could be making a big difference for parents and young people at various impasses.

Teen 2.0 is long for a reason.  Epstein is summarizing and discussing the history and nature of adolescence as a concept. He’s calling attention to the cost of that concept to those who qualify for the designation (13-17 year-olds) as well as the cost to the rest of us.  While I can’t promise that I’ll agree with everything he says, I highly recommend these first two chapters.  If you ever find yourself making a case for treating young people differently from the way we currently do (or if you just find yourself baffled by the struggles that have ensued as your child gets older), the information and references in these first pages will make it worth the read.

