Paths

This article from the Associated Press found its way to our local paper Wednesday afternoon.  It’s about a study published by the Harvard Graduate School of Education’s Pathways to Prosperity Project.  The project is part of Harvard’s Achievement Gap Initiative and was launched (according to a document I scrounged up on the Harvard website) to “respond to a need for better developed pathways from adolescence into the adult world of work.” I would have to agree that there’s a need for that!

I don’t love everything in the AP article, and I remain uncertain why it’s important to lead the world in college graduates if college graduation isn’t ensuring prosperity, but I did very much like these words from Sandy Baum, identified as an independent higher education policy analyst: “I don’t think the problem is too many people going to four-year colleges,” she said. “The problem is too many people making inappropriate choices. “What we’d like is a system where people of all backgrounds could choose to be plumbers or to be philosophers,” Baum added. “Those options are not open. But we certainly need plumbers so it’s wrong to think we should be nervous about directing people in that route.”

This conversation seems to me as though it just might be on the right track.  We’ll stay tuned…

